RSS Feed

Hello, Good Evening, and Welcome.

The first post of a new blog is an ill-defined beast. I could introduce myself, or I could jump right into the meat of the matter. Neither of those options seems entirely appropriate.

I am not a teacher, nor a parent, but I am a lover of books: all of them – epic novels, modernist satire, heavy non-fiction tomes, biographies, histories, comedies and tragedies. Populist and Literary, high art and low culture. ‘Give me books’, said Keats, ‘French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know’.  That is the good life.

Here’s some of the things you can expect to see here over the coming weeks and months:

  • Point Horror reconsidered
  • Banned books in Children’s literature
  • Why writing for children is hard work
  • The value of books without words
  • My Favourite Feminist Fables
  • and (as I believe it is traditional to say) much more!

So, welcome. Challenge and question, but above all – enjoy!

One response »

  1. *subscribes*

    Looking forward to Point Horror one – see Bee’s post on it? http://likeaskeletonkey.com/2010/12/23/the-tragic-demise-of-the-point-horror/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

